Project Description

Toul Chres Kindergarten

History of kindergarten

The Toul Chres Kindergarten is located in North Cambodia, in the village of Peurk. The kindergarten is on the site of the former primary school. The primary school moved to the nearest village in April this year. Their original school building moved with them. The primary school has access to clean water and sanitary facilities on the new school premises.

This leaves 34 kindergarten children who are between two and six years old. You can continue to use your old school building. The community supports the kindergarten with the restoration of the school. The old building is demolished, a concrete foundation is poured, the walls and roof of the old school are put back up and revised. Unfortunately, the children still have no access to clean water and / or sanitation. The current situation of COVID-19 shows us how important the right hygiene measures are.

Condition of the school before the changeover

Power supply

Unavailable

Existing water resources and their use

Due to its location, the kindergarten cannot be connected to the city’s water supply. There is no well and no pond. There is no river flowing in the immediate vicinity of the site and even smaller rainwater collection tanks have so far not been able to be purchased.

There are no latrines. The children are forced to relieve themselves after school.

There are no hand washing stations. The pupils have no possibility to wash their hands.

There is no drinking water available for the kindergarten children.

General condition of the school (cleanliness / maintenance work)

Unfortunately, there are no training courses in the area of ​​water / hygiene / environment. Accordingly, the waste is disposed of inadequately. Hardware, understanding and knowledge are missing.

Refitting the school

Activities

Rainwater collecting tank, including foundation and pipes: 1 pc. with 14,000 l
Hand washing stations: 1 pc.
Latrine (1 toilet): 1 piece, we will also add a urinal for the boys and the toilet building will be equipped with disabled access.
The used water should be used to irrigate the plants.
Training the teachers

Project organization and planning
Handling and maintenance with the WASH system
Avoidance and appropriate disposal of waste in cooperation with Plastic Free Cambodia
Playful teaching units in the areas of hygiene, environment, drinking water are implemented

Water analysis

Testing drinking water quality

Monitoring & evaluation

Ongoing control

Costs per head / child for an effective, long-lasting and sustainable removal of the inhumane conditions € 167.58.

Date: March 12, 2020

Detailed project costs

No. Description Costs in €
1 14,000 L cistern + base + taps + gutter + pipes, including water test 2.345,-
2 1 x Hand washing stations 244,20
3 1 x Toilet with ramp for girls and boys 650,-
4 Teaching materials 50,-
5 Teacher training 280,-
6 Training of children 240,-
7 Pass on ceremony 75,-
8 Training maintenance work 380,-
9 Follow-up 240,-
10 RWC Personnel costs, transportation, administration 675,63
11 kHA Administrative costs and other (10%) 517,98

Condition of the school after upgrading

Thanks to Arno Brickenkamp and his wife Ursula Brickenkamp, ​​the hygienic learning and working conditions of 34 children with a budget of around $ 4,000 were improved effectively and sustainably.

The health risks are thus significantly minimized and the number of diarrheal diseases due to poor sanitary conditions, impure drinking water and a lack of hygiene are drastically minimized. The hardware of the WaSH project of the Toul Chres Kindergarten was implemented on budget and all of the specified goals were achieved. The quality and quantity of the installed WASH infrastructure and technologies are continuously checked by the local organization Rainwater Cambodia, the partner of the small aid operation.

Outlook

Due to the current situation (COVID-19), contact closures and exit bans were also pronounced in Cambodia. Our partner organization Rainwater Cambodia was allowed to continue working and carry out the tree measures. The children and educators were not on site during this period. The software part (training for educators, children, etc.) will therefore be postponed until further notice. We are looking for a co-sponsor for this part of the project.

In addition, a pre-school program will be implemented, making the transition from kindergarten to school easier for the children.

Datum: 18. Mai 2020

Projektkoordinaten: 13.523661, 105.255717

Emergence and meaningfulness – WaSH (water sanitary hygiene) project

During our trip in January / February 2013, we became aware of the disastrous conditions of a school near Banan. There is no drinking water, no hand washing facility and no toilet. The children are forced to releive themselves in the bushes behind the school. It is not hard to imagine which health dangers emanate from this condition.

When Bong and I visit the school together with our team, we ask the children who would like to have something to drink. About 30% of the small children have some water, bottled in an old plastic bottle, cloudy and unimaginably dirty. When a little girl proudly pulls out her bottle to drink from it, I suddenly feel the need to knock the bottle out of her hands. It brings tears to my face, especially as I myself have a little daughter at home. The idea that she would have to drink this broth and then make her emergency (95% diarrhea) behind the school, all without toilet paper and without the option to wash your hands …. this idea will not leave my mind for days.

We had to work out a plan of how we could change this. Back in Germany, I had the opportunity to present this project to the Rotary Club „Willich“. My listeners quickly realized that with little money, many children can be sustainably helped. The projects are sustainable, effective and almost unbeatable in relation to the budget needed and the quality / quantity of the aid. We are building a pilot project and one of our most successful programs has its origins: WASH.

Today, four years later, in cooperation with the two Austrian organizations „Wasser-für-die-Welt“ and „Last-Hope“, the Rotary Clubs „Willich“ and “Neuss”, we have launched the „moeglichkeitenschenken“ initiative Partner agency „springer f3“ and, of course, our partner organization „Bareebo“ has already converted 21 schools and thus helped around 3,000 children.

Talk to us and become a development worker. We have schools that fit into your budget and you can help there effectively, concretely and sustainably.

Details

Status: Project in progress
Budget: € 5,697.81, of which € 4,000 has already been financed
Sponsor: Ursula & Arno Brickenkamp, further sponsors wanted

Project-Map

Condition of the school before upgrading

Condition of the school after upgrading

Projekt Beschreibung

Toul Chres Kindergarten

Geschichte des Kindergartens

Der Toul Chres Kindergarten befindet sich in Nordkambodscha, in dem Dorf Peurk. Der Kindergarten ist auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Grundschule. Die Grundschule zog im April dieses Jahres in das nächstgelegene Dorf. Ihr ursprüngliches Schulgebäude zog mit. Auf dem neuen Schulgelände erhält die Grundschule Zugang zu sauberen Wasser und sanitären Einrichtungen.

Zurück bleiben 34 Kindergartenkinder, welche zwischen zwei und sechs Jahre alt sind. Sie können ihr altes Schulgebäude weiterhin nutzen. Die Gemeinde unterstützt den Kindergarten mit der Restaurierung der Schule. Das alte Gebäude wird abgerissen, ein Fundament aus Beton wird gegossen, die Wände und das Dach der alten Schule  werden wieder aufgestellt und überarbeitet. Leider haben die Kinder weiterhin keinen Zugang zu sauberen Wasser und / oder sanitären Einrichtungen. Wie wichtig die richtigen Hygienemaßnahmen sind, führt uns die aktuelle Situation COVID-19 weltweit vor Augen.

Zustand der Schule vor der Umrüstung

Stromversorgung

Nicht vorhanden

Vorhandene Wasserressourcen und deren Verwendung

Der Kindergarten kann aufgrund seiner Lage nicht an die Wasserversorgung der Stadt angeschlossen werden. Es existiert kein Brunnen und kein Tümpel. Es fliest kein Fluss in unmittelbarer Nähe des Geländes und selbst kleinere Regenwasserauffangbehälter konnten bisher nicht angeschafft werden.

Es existieren keine Latrinen. Die Kinder sind gezwungen ihre Notdurft hinter der Schule  zu verrichten.

Es sind keine Handwaschstationen vorhanden. Die SchülerInnen haben keine Möglichkeit sich ihre Hände zu waschen.

Es steht kein Trinkwasser für die Kindergartenkinder zur Verfügung.

Allgemeiner Zustand der Schule (Sauberkeit / Wartungsarbeiten)

Leider gibt es bisher keinerlei Schulungen im Bereich Wasser/Hygiene/Umwelt. Dementsprechend unzureichend wird der Müll entsorgt. Es fehlt die Hardware, das Verständnis und das Knowledge.

Umrüstung der Schule

Maßnahmen

  • Regenwasserauffangbehälter, inkl. Fundament und Rohrleitungen: 1 Stck. mit 14.000 l
  • Handwaschstationen: 1 Stck.
  • Latrine (1 Toilette): 1 Stck., wir bringen für die Jungen zusätzlich ein Pissoir an und das Toilettengebäude wird mit einem behindertengerechten Zugang ausgestattet.
  • Das gebrauchte Nutzwasser soll zur Bewässerung der Pflanzen genutzt werden.

Schulung der Lehrer

  • Projektorganisation und -planung
  • Umgang und Wartung mit dem WASH-System
  • Vermeidung und artgerechte Entsorgung von Müll in Kooperation mit Plastic Free Cambodia
  • spielerische Unterrichtseinheiten im Bereich Hygiene, Umwelt, Trinkwasser werden implementiert

Wasseranalyse 

Testung der Trinkwasserqualität

Monitoring & Evaluation

Fortlaufende Kontrolle

Kosten pro Kopf/Kind für eine effektive, langanhaltende und nachhaltige Beseitigung der menschenunwürdigen Zustände 167,58 €.

Datum: 12. März 2020

Detaillierte Projektkosten

Nr. Beschreibung Kosten in €
1 14.000 L Zisterne + Sockel + Hähne + Rinne + Rohre, inkl. Wassertest 2.345,-
2 1 x Handwaschstationen 244,20
3 1 x Toilette mit Rampe für Mädchen und Jungen 650,-
4 Unterrichtsmaterialien 50,-
5 Schulung der ErzieherIn 280,-
6 Schulung der Kinder 240,-
7 Einweihungsfeier 75,-
8 Schulung Wartungsarbeiten 380,-
9 Follow-up 240,-
10 RWC Personalkosten, Transport, Verwaltung 675,63
11 kHA Verwaltungskosten und sonstiges (10%) 517,98

Zustand der Schule nach der Teil-Umrüstung

Dank Arno Brickenkamp und seiner Frau Ursula Brickenkamp, konnten die hygienischen Lern- und Arbeitsbedingungen von 34 Kindern mit einem Budget von rund 4.000 $ effektiv und nachhaltig verbessert werden.

Die Gesundheitsrisiken sind damit deutlich minimiert, und die Zahl der Durchfallerkrankungen durch schlechte sanitäre Bedingungen, unreinem Trinkwasser und fehlender Hygiene werden drastisch minimiert. Die Hardware des WaSH-Projektes des Toul Chres Kindergarten konnte budgetgerecht umgesetzt und alle vorgegebenen Ziele erreicht werden. Die Qualität und Quantität der installierten WASH-Infrastruktur und -Technologien werden kontinuierlich durch die lokale Organisation Rainwater Cambodia, dem Partner der kleinen Hilfsaktion, überprüft.

Ausblick

Aufgrund der aktuellen Situation (COVID-19) wurden auch in Kambodscha Kontaktsperren und Ausgangsverbote ausgesprochen. Unsere Partnerorganisation Rainwater Cambodia durfte weiterhin arbeiten und die Baummaßnahmen durchführen. Die Kinder und ErzieherIn sind in diesem Zeitraum nicht Vorort gewesen. Der Software-Part (Schulungen der ErzieherIn, der Kinder, etc.) wird daher bis auf weiteres verschoben. Für diesen Teil des Projektes suchen wir einen Co-Sponsor.

Darüber hinaus soll ein Vorschulprogramm implementiert werden und so den Kindern der Übergang vom Kindergarten in die Schule erleichtert werden.

Datum: 18. Mai 2020

Projektkoordinaten: 13.523661, 105.255717

Entstehung und Sinnhaftigkeit – WaSH (Wasser Sanitär Hygiene) Projekt

Schon bei unserem Hilfstrip im Januar/Februar 2013 wurden wir auf die desaströsen Zustände einer Schule in der Nähe von Banan aufmerksam. Es gibt kein Trinkwasser, keine Möglichkeit des Händewaschens und keine einzige Toilette. Die Notdurft verrichten die Kinder in dem Gebüsch hinter der Schule. Unschwer vorstellbar welche gesundheitlichen Gefahren von diesem Zustand ausgehen.

Als Bong und ich zusammen mit unserem Team die Schule während der Schulzeit besuchen, befragen wir die Kinder, wer etwas zu trinken dabei hätte. Etwa 30 % der kleinen Kinder haben etwas Wasser dabei, abgefüllt in einer alten Plastikflasche, trübe und unvorstellbar schmutzig. Als ein kleines Mädchen stolz ihre Flasche herauszieht, um daraus zu trinken, habe ich plötzlich das Bedürfnis, ihr die Flasche aus der Hand zu schlagen. Es treibt mir die Tränen ins Gesicht, besonders vor dem Hintergrund, dass ich selber eine kleine Tochter zu Hause habe. Die Vorstellung, sie müsste diese Brühe trinken und dann ihre Notdurft (zu 95% Durchfall) hinter der Schule verrichten, das alles ohne Toilettenpapier und ohne die Option sich die Hände zu waschen …. dieser Gedanke lässt mich tagelang nicht los.

Wir erarbeiten einen Plan, wie wir den Zustand ändern können. Wieder in Deutschland angekommen, habe ich die Möglichkeit, dem Rotary-Club „Willich“ dieses Projekt zu präsentieren. Meine Zuhörer begreifen schnell, dass hier mit wenig Geld sehr vielen Kindern nachhaltig geholfen werden kann. Die Projekte sind nachhaltig, effektiv und im Verhältnis zwischen benötigtem Budget und Qualität/Quantität der Hilfe fast unschlagbar. Wir bauen ein Pilotprojekt und eines unserer erfolgreichsten Programme findet seinen Ursprung: WASH.

Heute, vier Jahre später, haben wir in Zusammenarbeit mit den beiden österreichischen Organisationen „Wasser-für-die-Welt“ und „Last-Hope“, den Rotary Clubs „Willich“ und „Neuss“, der Initiative „moeglichkeitenschenken“ unserer Partneragentur „springer f3“ und natürlich unserer Partnerorganisation „Bareebo“ bereits 21 Schulen umgerüstet und damit etwa 3.000 Kindern geholfen.

Sprechen Sie uns an und werden Sie Entwicklungshelfer. Wir finden/haben eine Schule, die in Ihr Budget passt und helfen dort effektiv, konkret und nachhaltig.

Details

Status: Projekt in Bearbeitung
Budget: 5.697,81€, davon sind 4.000€ bereits finanziert
Sponsor: Ursula & Arno Brickenkamp, weitere Sponsoren gesucht

Project-Map

Vor der Umrüstung

Nach der ersten Teil-Umrüstung